our team

Our Staff

Amanda Alexander

Founding Executive Director

Lejla Bajgorić

Associate Director of Development

Mark Bennett

Staff Attorney

Sonja Bonnett

Community Legal Advocate

Cidney Calloway

Office Manager

Claudia Colin Grimes

Communications Associate

Chris Delgado

Community Legal Advocate

Desiree M. Ferguson

Special Legal Counsel

Whitley Granberry

Senior Staff Attorney, Economic Equity Practice

AJ Hamilton

Staff Attorney

Dana Hayes

Director of People and Culture

Nicole Huddleston

Managing Director of LSAP, Legal Services and Advocacy Practice

Tiffany Jones

Director of Finance & Operations

Erin Keith

Managing Policy Counsel

Sophia Lusk


Donovan McCarty

Staff Attorney

Joe McGuire

Staff Attorney

Angel McKissic

Senior Program Manager, Metro Detroit Restorative Justice Network

Glennisha Morgan

Communications Manager

Rubina Mustafa

Senior Staff Attorney

Sophie Ordway

Legal Research Analyst

Nancy A. Parker

Interim Co-Executive Director

Carly Priehs

Senior Development Associate

Casey Rocheteau

Communications Director

Sheba Rogers

Senior Program Manager, Divest/Invest Initiative

Dani Sanna

Financial Analyst

Regina Sharma

Director of Development

Felicia Thomas

Co-Executive Director

Lauren Thomas

Community Legal Advocate

Jasmine Valentine

Leadership Gift Officer

Eric C. Williams

Managing Director of EEP, Economic Equity Practice

Our Board

Amanda Alexander

Founding Executive Director

Tameshia Bridges Mansfield

Vice Chair — Vice President of Workforce Innovation at Jobs for the Future

James Britton

Associate General Counsel, International Union, United Auto Workers

Michael Carter

Board Chair — Executive Director of the Federal Community Defenders Office for the Eastern District of Michigan

Mark Crain

Board Secretary — Executive Director, Dream of Detroit

Ashlee Cunningham

Board Treasurer — Assistant Director of Programs at the Center for Community Investment

Renee Hatcher

Assistant Professor of Law and the Director of the Community Enterprise & Solidarity Economy Clinic at UIC John Marshall Law School-Chicago

Barakah Sanders

Research Assistant at the University of Michigan School of Information

Purvi Shah

Founder & Executive Director, Movement Law Lab

Advisory Board

The following individuals have provided guidance and support in DJC’s initial stages, and will continue to lend their expertise and wisdom as the organization grows:

Shane Bernardo, Detroit Equity Action Lab / Uprooting Racism Planting Justice

Michael Carter, Federal Defender Office / ACLU of Michigan Board

Gina Clayton, Essie Justice Group

Mark Fancher, ACLU of Michigan

James Forman, Jr., Yale Law School

Dorcas Gilmore, George Washington University Law School / Gilmore Khandar, LLC

Alana Greer, Community Justice Project

Peter Hammer, Damon J. Keith Center for Civil Rights, Wayne State University Law School

Thomas Harvey, The Advancement Project

Deborah LaBelle, Senior Soros Justice Fellow / Law Offices of Deborah A. LaBelle

Monica Lewis-Patrick, We the People of Detroit

Tawana Petty, James and Grace Lee Boggs Center / Detroit Community Technology Project

Brandy Robinson, Michigan Indigent Defense Commission / Federal Defender Office

Marbre Stahly-Butts, Law for Black Lives

Dr. Heather Ann Thompson, Soros Justice Fellow / University of Michigan

Linda VanderWaal, Re-Entry Program, Oakland Livingston Human Services Agency

Vince Warren, Center for Constitutional Rights